Carleton University
Quick Facts:
Tuition: $8,791.00  Students: 26,771
315 Robertson Hall
Ottawa, ON      K1S 5B6

Carleton University

Carleton University was established in 1942 as a small college in Ottawa, Ontario during the height of the Second World War. It was named after Guy Carleton, the first Baron Dorchester and the Governor-General of British North America. Over the years, the college has been gaining a reputation for its highly specialized and demanding programs. Its motto is: “Ours the Task Eternal”. ... continued below

About Carleton University

Campus: Facilities, Residence and Location

The University has the Educational Development Centre, which provides the teaching tools and resources to the assistants, faculty and instructors of Carleton. Together with the Queen’s University, College of Canada, University of Ottawa, and the Royal Military College of Canada, Carleton has access to the High Performance Computing Consortium (HPCVL), a supercomputer power which helps solve more complex and complicated problems. Its library, the Maxwell MacOdrum Library, houses more than three million books, government documents, journals, music scores, microforms, archives, maps, newspapers, and rare materials. Its Audio Visual Resource Centre has a large collection of films, and its European and Russian Studies Centre has a big collection of Eurasian-focused materials.

The University has ten Residences available to students who want to live in the campus: Frontenac, Grenville, Leeds, Prescott, Renfrew, Glengarry, Russell, Dundas, Stormont, and Lanark. All of them are interconnected to the tunnel system of the campus. This tunnel, an elaborate 5 km of underground tunnels, have murals created by student groups. The tunnels can be accessed by anyone, including those with disabilities. Most of the residents are nicknamed “Tunnel Rats”, “McKeowns”, or “Tunnel Moles”.

Student Services and Student Life

Carleton offers these services to students: Awards and Financial Aid, Career Development and Co-operative Education, Health and Counselling Services, International Student Service, Paul Menton Centre for Students with Disabilities, Student Academic Success Centre, Student Affairs, Student Experience Office, Undergraduate Recruitment Office (URO) and Admissions Services, University Registrar’s Office, and Student Support Services.

The Carleton Undergraduate Student’s Association provides Health Plans, Fax, Ride Boards, ISIC Cards (gives students airfare, Rail fares, lodging, and other discounts; Student Phones, and Red Zone (for sports team fanatics). There are also plenty of clubs and associations to participate in: AIDS Awareness Society, Badminton Club, Biomedical Engineering, Campus for Christ (C4C), Canadian International Modelling Agency, Carleton Industrial Design Students' Association, Dance Association, Debating Club, Engineers Without Borders, Friends Around the World, Holocaust Awareness Committee, International Relations Society, Journalist for Human Rights, Learn to Dance Flamenco, Music Society, Math Society, Neuroscience Society, Orthodox Christian Fellowship, Pre-Health club, Resistencia Alternative Films, Red Cross Club, Sprott Accounting Student Association, Student Coalition Against War, The Caribbean Students Association, United Nations Children's Fund, United Nations Association, Vagina Dentata Magazine, Women's Studies Society, and Young Liberals.

Academic Programs

Carleton is known for its rare programs in Journalism, Aerospace Engineering, Commerce, Interactive Multimedia and Design, Geomatics, European and Russian Studies, International Affairs, Public Policy, Network Technology, Renewable Energy, and Film Studies. It offers around 60 programs under these faculties: The Sprott School of Business, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Public Affairs, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research, Faculty of Engineering and Design, and the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

Famous Alumni

Some of the most famous alumi of Carleton are: Alex Cullen, Member of Provincial Parliament, Ottawa City Councillor; Barry Devolin, Member of Parliament; Bruck Easton, former president of the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada; Conrad Black, former businessman; Dan Aykroyd, Actor and Comedian; David Azrieli, Architect, 10th richest man in Canada; Gord Brown, Member of Parliament; Hans Daigeler, Member of Provincial Parliament; James Duthie, TSN host and Journalist; Keith Boag, chief political correspondent for Canadian Broadcasting Corporation; K-OS (Kheaven Brereton), Canadian musician; Lindsay Blackett, first black Cabinet minister in Alberta; Louise Charron, Puisne Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada; Michelle Douglas, Human Rights Activist; Mike Colle, Member of Provincial Parliament; Patrick Boyer, Member of Parliament; Paul Dewar, Member of Parliament; Rita Celli, host for Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and Taz Boga, Anchor/Reporter (A-Channel Ottawa).

Ottawa Information

Ottawa is the capital of Canada and the country's fourth largest municipality,as well as the second largest city in the province of Ontario. It is located in the Ottawa Valley on the eastern edge of the province of Ontario. Ottawa lies on the banks of the Ottawa River, a major waterway that forms the boundary between Ontario and Quebec.

There is no federal capital district in Canada. Ottawa is a municipality within the Province of Ontario. Although it does not constitute a separate administrative district, Ottawa is part of the federally-designated National Capital Region, which includes the neighbouring Quebec municipality of Gatineau.


Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Greater Allegheny
CET-San Bernardino
Herzing College


San Bernardino



Livingstone College
College of the Albemarle
University of Southern Mississippi

North Carolina

Elizabeth City
North Carolina