Go Back To Scholarship Listings

NCWIT Award For Aspirations in Computing

Scholarship Value: $500
Awards Available: 391
Award Deadline: November 12, 2018

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing (AiC) honors women in grades 9 through 12 who are active and interested in computing and technology, and encourages them to pursue their passions. Award for AiC recipients are chosen for their demonstrated interest and achievements in computing, proven leadership ability, academic performance, and plans for post‑secondary education. To date, more than 12,000 women have been honored with the Award for AiC.

The multi-tiered award structure includes winner, honorable mention, and certificate of distinction designations at national and regional levels, serving all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and all U.S. overseas military bases. Regional Affiliate Award programs are hosted in 79 locations nationwide by NCWIT Alliance member organizations -- a powerful, national network of universities, companies, non-profits, and government organizations working to increase the meaningful participation of girls and women in computing.

The NCWIT Award for AiC is sponsored by Apple, Bank of America, Microsoft, Motorola Solutions Foundation, and Symantec.

Applications for the 2019 Award for Aspirations in Computing open on September 1, 2018.


Any U.S. woman in grades 9 through 12 is eligible to apply and will be considered for both the National and Affiliate Award, if she also meets all of the following criteria:

A) She is 13 years of age or older at time of account creation.

B) She is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident who attends school in the U.S. or is a U.S. citizen attending school in Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, or on a U.S. overseas military base.

C) She has a U.S. Tax Identification or Social Security Number.

D) She is not an NCWIT employee and has no immediate family relationship with employees, extended staff, contractors or board members of NCWIT (including spouses, siblings, children, grandchildren, and persons residing in the same household).


A) Applicants may reapply each year; however, National Award winners are not eligible to win again.

B) Regional Affiliate Award programs allow repeat recipients at their own discretion.


Each National and Regional Affiliate Award winner, as well as each honorable mention, receives:

A) Recognition at a Regional Affiliate Award event (at the discretion of the Regional Affiliate Award program)

B) An engraved award for both her and her school

C) Scholarship and internship opportunities

D) Entry to a peer-network of technical women in the NCWIT AiC Community

E) Various prizes, such as computing resources, gadgets, swag, and more

Go to Scholarship Application:
NCWIT Award For Aspirations in Computing